How clean are your communications?

Tom McCallum
4 min readAug 16, 2018
how-to-communicate-values-without-telling-people-to-live-the-values-18-638

image from a SlideShare deck from OneFish TwoFish called

“How to communicate values without telling people to ‘live the values’ “

So, yesterday I wrote: “Be rid of Brilliant Jerks”. I didn’t say “Fire your Brilliant Jerks”.

So, how can you be rid of brilliant jerks without firing them, particularly in this world where hiring and firing can be a minefield laden with so much employee legislation, policies, procedures, protocols?

My answer? Lead your organisation rigorously based on values (ie where values are not just words framed on a wall or on a website!), then brilliant jerks will leave of their own volition, you won’t need to fire them.

In fact, keep reading my daily posts, as I’m going to keep riffing around this as feel like I’m on a role, and coming soon will be a post on “no fire” policies and companies that have successfully put this at their core.

Now, perhaps it feels like there is a big gap to bridge here between what you may have learned to believe to be the way to operate (eg firing the brilliant jerks) and my perhaps seemingly magical approach of having them choose to leave themselves?

Today, then, I’ll touch on a concept from psychology called Transactional Analysis (for an introduction, read here), then also on an…

--

--

Tom McCallum

Sounding Board for Visionary Leaders ready to make a Massive Impact. Daily posts here, or https://tommccallum.com/newsletter-sign-up/